Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > North America

Central and North America

Central America

"Central America" is the collective name for the Central American mainland bridge between North and South America and the Caribbean or West Indies.


The Central American continental mass includes the states of Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama and is to the north by the Gulf of Mexico, to the southwest by the Pacific, to the northwest by the isthmus of Tehuantepec and in the southeast by the Panamanian Colombian border is limited. Furthermore, the West Indian island world can be counted as Central America. The West Indies lie between the Gulf of Mexico, the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean; consisting of the Greater and Lesser Antilles, the Bahamas and Trinidad and Tobago.

Geologically and geographically, Central America can be counted as North America; Since Spanish is spoken on the Central American mainland bridge (with the exception of Belize), Central America is often culturally seen as belonging to South America. Mexico is often culturally classified as Central America.

Most of the Central American land bridge and the Caribbean islands are mountainous (some are volcanic). There are three climatic levels: Tierra caliente (hot country, up to about 600 m), Tierra templada (moderately warm country, up to 1800 m) and Tierra fria (cold country).


The original population of mainland Central America has been preserved, while the original population of the islands has been almost completely eradicated. On the mainland of Central America there are mostly mixed breeds, besides blacks and Europeans, on the islands the descendants of African slaves dominate. The composition of the population varies greatly in some cases. The main crops and exports are coffee, coconuts and bananas.

Due to the varied colonial history, English, French, Dutch and Spanish are spoken on the West Indies. There are also various Creole languages.


The countries of America are located between the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. Quite different from each other, these nations have enormous cultural wealth and economic influence.

American countries are nations whose territories are located on the American continent. Together, these countries constitute an enormous cultural wealth, each with its own particularities.

In America we can find very populous countries, as well as countries with low population density, countries that have severe winters and others that live with high temperatures almost all year round, countries that have highly developed economies and those that are still developing.

According to Countryaah, the countries of America are divided into three subcontinents:

  • North America
  • South America
  • Central America

How many countries are in America?

The American continent has 36 countries and some dependent or autonomous territories, belonging to other countries that are not located in America, such as Greenland (region of the Kingdom of Denmark) and the Malvinas Islands (British overseas territory). These 36 countries are distributed in the American subcontinents as follows:

  1. North America: 3 countries
  2. Central America: 20 countries
  3. South America: 13 countries

List of Central American countries and their capitals

Countries Capital Continent
Antigua and Barbuda Saint John's Central America
Bahamas Nassau Central America
Barbados Bridgetown Central America
Belize Belmopan Central America
Costa Rica San Jose Central America
Cuba Havana Central America
Dominica Roseau Central America
El Salvador Salvador Central America
Grenade Saint George's Central America
Guatemala Guatemala City Central America
Haiti Port Prince Central America
Honduras Tegucigalpa Central America
Jamaica Kingston Central America
Nicaragua Managua Central America
Panama Panama City Central America
Dominican Republic Santo Domingo Central America
Saint Lucia Castries Central America
Saint Kitts and Nevis Basseterre Central America
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Kingstown Central America
Trinidad and Tobago Porto Spain Central America

Most developed and least developed countries in Central America

The largest economy in Central America and the Caribbean (a subcontinent region formed by islands surrounded by the Caribbean Sea) corresponds to the Dominican Republic, according to the World Bank. With a total GDP of approximately US $ 98.7 billion, the country is considered the most visited destination in the Caribbean, with tourism being one of the major drivers of its economy. This is based on agriculture (whose products are exported) and the second and third sectors ( mining , services and trade).

Although Central America has the Dominican Republic with a rapidly rising economy, it is in this subcontinent that one of the poorest countries in America is found, still considered underdeveloped: Haiti. The country deals with political instabilities, marked by successions of dictatorships and democratic regimes, and also with several natural disasters, which devastated its territory.

Haiti's harsh reality shows that more than half of the country lives below the poverty line. Health and safety issues have deficits, as the government is unable to serve the population efficiently.

Countries in North America
  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Bahamas
  3. Barbados
  4. Belize
  5. Canada
  6. Costa Rica
  7. Cuba
  8. Dominica
  9. Dominican Republic
  10. El Salvador
  11. Greenland
  12. Grenada
  13. Guatemala
  14. Haiti
  15. Honduras
  16. Jamaica
  17. Mexico
  18. Nicaragua
  19. Panama
  20. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  21. Saint Lucia
  22. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  23. Trinidad and Tobago
  24. United States

Countries General Copyright 2012 - 2020 All Rights Reserved